This year, Earth Hour takes place at 8:30 p.m. local time on March 25. By turning off the lights for an hour, local government, cities, companies etc. are showing solidarity to a strong commitment to fighting climate change.

Earth Hour was famously started as a lights-off event in Sydney, Australia in 2007. Since then it has grown to engage more than 172 countries and territories worldwide.

Croatia joined this event in 2009. and this year more than 58 Croatian cities and landmarks will participate, among them Dubrovnik City Walls, Arena in Pula, Zagreb Cathedral together with Eiffel tower, Empire State Building, Big Bena and many others worldwide.